Eastside Library will be closed due to construction work through 8/7.

7988
Image
Title

Operations & Training

Body

Operations Division

Operations personnel work a 48/96 work schedule that comprises 2 complete days on duty with 4 days off duty in a rotation system. There are 3 platoons or shifts of firefighters to fully staff this rotation system. Each shift has 28 firefighters and one Battalion Chief for a total of 29 safety personnel on duty each day of the year.

 We respond to natural and man-made emergencies including the following type of incidents:

  • Structure Fires
  • Wildland Fires
  • Vehicle Fires
  • Medical Emergencies
  • Accidents
  • Harbor Incidents
  • Hazardous Materials
  • Explosions
  • Aircraft Emergencies
  • Flooding
  • Earthquake
  • Rescues

In 2023, the City of Santa Barbara Fire Department responded to 11,627 calls for service.  65% of the calls (7,551) were rescues and medical emergencies.

As part of the local and master mutual aid system, SBFD provides resources to the neighboring operational area and throughout the state of California.    

In addition to emergency responses, Engine Companies also conduct prevention inspections and deliver fire safety public education for the community of Santa Barbara.

Training Division

Our division provides standardized training for department members. This division insures that the fire department meets or exceeds all Federal, State and Local requirements, certifications, and mandates. It also is active in developing and evaluating new programs for the department.

 

Sections

Operations and Training Contacts

Operations and Training Divisions

General Line
(805) 965-5254

Brian Federmann

Operations Division Chief
BFedermann@santabarbaraca.gov

Jon Turner

Battalion Chief, "A" Shift
JTurner@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Brandon Paige

Training Battalion Chief
BPaige@santabarbaraca.gov

 

 

Cory Cloud

Battalion Chief, "C" Shift
CCloud@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Rich Ames

Battalion Chief, "B" Shift
RAmes@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Jeremy Denton

Training Captain
JDenton@santabarbaraca.gov