SANTA BARBARA HARBOR PATROL: Required Training by Hours

2019 HOURS
LAW ENFORCEMENT

Penal Code (PC) 832 & 833 162
CSTI Officer Safety and Field Tactics 40
MLETC Basic Maritime Officers Course 80
CDB&W Boating Under the Influence of Alcohol 24
CLETS Law Enforcement Computer Certification 4
ASP Baton Certification 8
OC Pepper Spray Training 2
TASER 8
MEDICAL

Emergency Medical Technician (w/ E.R. & Ambulance) 140
Cardio-Pulmonary Resusc. for Professional Rescuer (CPR) 8
Automatic External Defibrillator (AED) 2
FIREFIGHTING

CDB&W Marine Firefighting 40
First Responder Operations (FRO) 16
Hazwoper Marine Oil Spill Response 8
LIFESAVING

American Red Cross Lifeguard Certification 34
BOATING

CDB&W Boating Skills Operations 40
CDB&W Rescue Boat Operations/Search and Rescue 40
CDB&W Piloting and Navigation 40
CDB&W Boating Accident Investigation-Reconstruction 40
USCG Rescue Helicopter Operations 4
UCSG Merchant Marine Officer's License* 88
TOTAL 828 828 Hours = 20.70 weeks of required training**

1440 hours = 36 weeks minimum to sit for USCG license.

*USCG Merchant Marine Officers License: In order to qualify for this license, a person must document 360 (1440 hours) or 720 (2880 hours) days at sea.

They are then eligible to take the series of 5 examinations. The prep course and exams are 88 hours.

**Does not include handgun range qualification every 2 months, annual safety training (Infectious Disease Control, Confined Space, etc.),

certificate/license recertifications nor in-house officer training. All the above are minimum course hour requirements.

The State of California does not offer a Harbor Patrol Academy

CDB&W: State of California Department of Boating and Waterways

FMO: State of California Fire Marshal's Office

CLETS: California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System

POST: State of California Peace Officer's Standard of Training

CSTI: State of California Training Institute

USCG: United States Coast Guard

MLETC: Maritime Law Enforcement Training Center.
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